ROS INCIDENT 031 – Four Freedoms – No Access to any part of the front wall
2024-08-19 06:40:48

Link to video - here

Rule(s) that apply:

8.1.4. the freedom to strike the ball to any part of the front wall.

My Thinking
Player in White serves down the middle.  Player in Red (without turning) positions himself to hit a forehand but cannot do so safely because Player in White has taken up a position on the T and is blocking access to any part of the front wall by nearly 50%!

According to rule 8.1.4, this is a clear and obvious stroke.

For some reason, this is rarely given, but quite clearly, should be given and without hesitation.

See attached picture that clearly illustrated this IMG_8735.jpg 

My Call (applying Rules 8.1.4 above) – Stroke not giving access to any part of the front wall.

Words you can say to the players: 

Stroke not giving access to any part of the front wall.  You moved to the T and blocked much of the front wall.

Match Referee Decision

Let – lenient marking and actually unfair as it was a point to the Player in Red

Thought Process Flowchart Graphic  – Click here 

 

 

Comments


Date: 2024-12-07
Commented By: GtZNGmOL - ultsduynsidlkyrc@yahoo.com



Date: 2024-12-07
Commented By: GtZNGmOL - ultsduynsidlkyrc@yahoo.com



Date: 2025-05-25
Commented By: AalDjZGxlWPRe - phaleoe@gmail.com



Date: 2025-05-25
Commented By: AalDjZGxlWPRe - phaleoe@gmail.com



Date: 2025-06-14
Commented By: hrXjrrciOzV - larkduncan25@gmail.com



Date: 2025-06-14
Commented By: hrXjrrciOzV - larkduncan25@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *